435 Main Ave S | Renton, WA 98057 | (425) 687-8585
May 2019

5/31/2019 - WIAA Football State Championships to Find New Home

5/30/2019 - Football Seeding Committee Announced for 2019 Season

5/20/2019 - Moehrle and Victor Named 2019 WIAA/Dairy Farmers of Washington/Les Schwab Tires Smart Choices Scholarship Winners

5/13/2019 - WIAA Representative Assembly Passes Eight Amendments

5/9/2019 - Garcia, Starr named April Middle Level Star Students of the Month

5/8/2019 - WIAA Announces 2019 Spring Academic State Champions

5/6/2019 - POSITION OPENING: Assistant Executive Director

Football Seeding Committee Announced for 2019 Season

RENTON, Wash. - The WIAA announced the members of its Football Seeding Committee for the 2019 season, Thursday.

The committee will be tasked with seeding the 16-teams in each WIAA Classification (eight-teams for the 1B classification) for the State Football Championships. The committee will have no bearing upon which teams qualify for the State tournament as teams will continue to qualify into the state bracket through the WIAA District allocation system. Once the field is determined, the seeding committee will rank and place teams in the first round of the bracket based on their performance throughout the regular season and playoffs.

In the first year of the committee’s existence, three sub-committees were formed, each overseeing two WIAA Classifications. In 2019, there will be six sub-committees, narrowing the focus to one classification each.

The Seeding Committee is scheduled to meet before the season begins on August 19, and again at the conclusion of Week 10 to assign seeding position.

An application process was used to select knowledgeable and qualified people from around the state. The selected members were divided into the following six committees:

1B Seeding Committee
Committee Member (Affiliation)

1. Jim Sandusky (Lummi)
2. Buck Marsh* (Darrington)
3. Phil Bunkowske (Evergreen Lutheran)
4. Brian Macy (Naselle)
5. Brian Bailey* (Entiat)
6. Clark Pauls (Wellpinit)
7. Kyle Kimble* (Pomeroy)
8. Matthew Evans* (Media)
9. Ryland Spencer* (Media)

2B Seeding Committee
Committee Member (Affiliation)

1. Jon Davidson* (Toutle Lake)
2. Tom Sanchez* (South Bend)
3. Tim Rasmussen (Lake Roosevelt)
4. Jim Holman* (Asotin)
5. Aaron Van Tuyl* (Media)
6. Matthew Evans* (Media)
7. Ryland Spencer* (Media)

1A Seeding Committee
Committee Member (Affiliation)

1. Paul Lagerstadt (South Whidbey)
2. Dan Winter (Montesano)
3. John Lambert (LaCenter)
4. Cody Lamb* (La Salle)
5. Elia Ala'ilima-Daley* (Cascade)
6. Jerry King (Freeman)
7. Bill Marsh* (Former Coach)
8. Ryland Spencer* (Media)

2A Seeding Committee
Committee Member (Affiliation)

1. Dan Teeter * (Lakewood)
2. Marty Parkhurst (Orting)
3. Jeff Weible* (North Kitsap)
4. Jeff Johnson (W.F. West)
5. Shawn Perkins* (Mark Morris)
6. Bryan Bailey (Prosser)
7. Jeff Chandler (Cheney)
8. Ryland Spencer* (Media)

3A Seeding Committee
Committee Member (Affiliation)

1. Mark Perry* (Snohomish)
2. Kyle McKenna (Former Coach)
3. Monte Kohler* (O'Dea)
4. Ross Filkins* (Peninsula)
5. Jason Silbaugh (Bonney Lake)
6. Adam Mathieson* (Mountain View)
7. Paul Kautzman (Mt. Spokane)
8. Anna Harris (Kennewick)
9. Ryland Spencer* (Media)

4A Seeding Committee
Committee Member (Affiliation)

1. Robert Polk (Everett SD)
2. John Applegate (Lake Washington SD)
3. Kelly Susee (Puyallup)
4. Tony Davis (Tahoma)
5. Jon Eagle (Camas)
6. Jim Beesen (Wenatchee)
7. John Barrington* (Mead)
8. Steve Graff (Chiawana)
9. Ryland Spencer* (Media)

*Served on the Seeding Committee in 2018

Sign up for RSS Feed
Washington Interscholastic Activities Association  |   435 Main Ave S   |  Renton, WA 98057  |  (425) 687-8585  |  © 2021
    Mission & Strategic Plan
    WIAA Staff
    Member School Directory
    Districts & Leagues
    Classifications 2020-2024
    Executive Board
    COVID-19 Planning
        Softball (Slowpitch)
    Statewide League Standings
    Brackets & Past Results
    Tournament Central
    WIAA Live Mobile App
    State Championship Dates
        2020-21 State Championship Dates
        2021-22 State Championship Dates
        Media Credential Registration
    Ticket Prices
    Tournament History
    Tournament Regulations
    Allocations & Draw Criteria
    Athlete of the Week
    Women in Sport Summit
    Mind Gym Wednesdays
    Team of the Month
    Smart Choices Scholarship Program
    Game of the Week
    Scholastic Cup
    Scholastic Awards Program
    Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee
    Hall of Fame
        Hall of Fame Home
    WOA/WIAA Co-Op Agreement
    Health & Wellness
        Concussion Management Guidelines
        Sudden Cardiac Arrest Guidelines
        Heat Index Calculator
        Asthma Info For Coaches
        Sideline Asthma Basics
        Catastrophic Injury and Fatality Reporting
    Member School Directory
    College Eligibility
    Arbiter Resource Center
    MaxPreps Resource Center
    Order Handbooks and Rule Books
    Athletic Directors
    Coaches School
    2-Minute Drill Archive
    Job Openings
    Games Wanted